Tuesday, February 07, 2006


Okay, as you may have noticed this blog hasn't been updated in quite a long time. And it probably won't be updated anytime soon. However, head over to www.winter-sounds.com , that is my new website. There you will find reviews of sweet music, films, and books. Maybe a few interviews with my friend's bands. I dunno, either way it will be sweet! I seriously got like a millions hits to this website, so thanks to everyone who read it and commented on stuff.


the new site!

Sunday, October 02, 2005


[Download "Action" from The Action Album]
Download "Get Steady" from Interrogations and Confessions]
Download "You're Too Straight to Love Me" from You're Too Straight to Love Me]

While attending high school Oh My God dominated the Flint, MI music scene. The Chicago based band packed The Flint Local 432, Churchills, and The Metropolis on an almost weekly basis. Their insane stage antics, unique musical style, and down to earth attitudes left kids, including me, addicted to their sound.

Oh My God has three members. Iguana, a former Buddy Guy studio musician handles keyboards. Bish takes care of drums. Then there is Billy, the outrageous frontman who occasionally pitches in on bass guitar. Their sound is uncomparable to any band that I have ever heard. I can only describe them has a heavily keyboard driven, synth/pop, with political and sexually charged lyrics. Do yourself a favor and download the tracks I have made available.


Monday, September 19, 2005


[Download "The Only Difference Between Martyrdom and Suicide is Press Coverage" from A Fever You Can't Sweat Out]

Say what you will about Fueled By Ramen Records or the booming post-hardcore movement happening in the US and Canada right now. The fact of the matter is that it is exposing some incredibly talented acts. Bands like The Receiving End of Sirens, The Fall of Troy, and now Panic! At The Disco are paving the way with loud guitars, conceptual lyrics, and out experimental electronics.

P!ATD are an really young group of kids from Las Vegas, Nevada. I typically tend to stray from bands that carry the now overly cliche term "emo". However, after listening to a few tracks, I was immediately addicted to their catchy choruses and unique lyrical style. Their debut album A Fever You Can't Sweat Out will be released late in September on Fueled By Ramen.


Tuesday, August 30, 2005


[Download "Look! I Made a Hot Air Balloon"] EXPIRED

Some of you may have noticed Small Bedroom went on a bit of a hiatus. I was in the process of moving into a new apartment and havn't had internet or anything. But now I am all moved in and will start posting again.

This latest addition to the blog comes from a group that consists of none other than me, Miike. I realize that this is a shameless self-promotion tactic, but whatever. The Spaceship Earth was a summer project of sorts, many hours were spent writing and recording this track. I don't know how to write about my own work, but some people have compared "Look! I Made a Hot Air Balloon" to early CAN, The Mercury Project, and Faust. Please check this track out, you may be pleasantly surprised. Also, I would really appreciate some feedback. So leave some comments.

Thursday, July 28, 2005


[Download "Elected" from No Danger]

was introduced to me a while ago by a friend who I had known while living in New York City. Good thing she told me about them, because this shit is sick. Inouk creates real mellow and soft indie rock. At points the singers voice eerily resembles that of Citizen Cope's. They also mix it up with some real twangy guitars that reminded me a bit of Beachwood Sparks. Their album No Danger is out on Say Hey Records, and it is sweet. Also, if you are in the UK, I think Inouk is touring with Modest Mouse right now.


Monday, July 18, 2005


[Download "SMALL BEDROOM Mixtape Vol. IV Sounds of Michigan"] EXPIRED
All 19 tracks are compressed into one '.zip' file.
Size: 67.5 MB
Format: WinZip File (.zip)

DISCLAIMER: This collection of music is only for sampling purposes. It may be a good idea to delete them from your computer after 24 Hours. SMALL BEDROOM Mixtape Vol. IV will be available for only 7 days. If you are the owner of one of these songs and would like it removed, please do not hesitate to contact me. I am not trying to harsh on anyones mellow here.

Michigan, my home state. Two glorious peninsulas covered with some of North America's most beautiful wildlife and scenery. I am proud to say I grew up in this great state. Slug once said, "and it hit me man, the midwest is dope, if only simply for not what we have but what we dont." I couldn't have said it better myself. The midwest, including Michigan, is full of hardworking down to earth people, and we arn't afraid or embarassed to say we are Michiganders. There was a point in my life when I thought I couldn't find what I was looking for in Michigan. I moved to New York City, and after two years the city never felt like home. I moved back home and to a new house with some old friends. It is now a year later, and I've never been happier.

Aside from the incredible wildlife and nature, Michigan has been home to some of the world's greatest musicians. Growing up, the Michigan music scene embraced me like nothing had before. I became heavily involved in any aspect of the scene I could. Whether it be writing for a zine or booking some disasterous show, I made sure I was a part of it. The tracks found on Sounds of Michigan are some of my favorite pieces of music. Some songs are from classic artists, others are from bands that were short lived and are long gone. For most people these names will be unfamiliar, but for a smaller group these bands will bring back memories of excellent times had. Please take the time to download and listen, you will be surprised at what Michigan has to offer. As always, I suggest you listen to the songs in the order listed. Oh yea, as a way to promote myself, I added a track from one of my musical endeavours. Tell me what you think.

Track Listing:
01. MC5- Kick Out the Jams
02. Kinetic Stereokids- Call It Quits
03. Oh Boy! Oh Boy! Commander- D Vi The Lovers
04. Whirlwind Heat- Blue
05. Wallside- Backpacks and Winterhats
06. Current- Continued Rantings
07. Jihad- Solcrosis
08. Empire State Games- The Evil Song
09. Mycomplex- We Have Seasons Here
10. Midwest Product- Still Love in the Midwest
11. Dayton Family- Flint Town
12. Benefit- So Sick
13. Binary Star- Reality Check
14. Thunderbirds Are Now!- Untitled Song (Demo)
15. Utah- The Boy Who Gave Away The Bomb
16. Telegraph- American Way
17. The Fletcher Pratt- Lucky and the Train Back
18. Sufjan Stevens- Flint
19. Uh Yes Uh No- Look! I Made a Hot Air Balloon (my song!)


Sunday, July 17, 2005


[Download "Untitled Song" from Sorede Sozo Suru Neji] EXPIRED

Yes, this is a repeat post. Everyone said that they loved this track, so I am posting it again. Oh yea, the guys at Throwaway Style and Soft Graffiti gave Small Bedroom a shout out.

Nisennenmondai are three very small girls from Japan. The name means "2000 Years of Problems" or "Year 2000 Computer Bug", I don't know. These girls blast out long, loud, instrumental tracks that just don't stop. In the last two years they have release two albums in Japan and the US, and have managed to become the sweethearts of Japan's underground noise scene. You can buy both of their albums in the US on Eclipse Records.